The Official Website of the Acid Maltase Deficiency Association

It is difficult to say what is impossible for the dreams of yesterday are the hopes of today and the reality of tomorrow. - Robert H. Goddard

Upcoming Event: Respiratory Muscle Strength Training in Pompe Disease Webinar

Posted on: May 20, 2011

On June 6, 2011 the AMDA will host a webinar on Respiratory Muscle Strength Training in Pompe disease at 12:00pm (ET); 11:00am (CT); 10:00am (MT); 9:00am (PT).

The Guest Speaker is:  Harrison N. Jones, PhD, BRS-S, CCC-SLP, Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Speech Pathology & Audiology, Duke University.

Dr. Jones received his PhD from the University of Florida in Rehabilitation Science in 2007. He has been practicing as a speech pathologist for over ten years and continues to spend half his time in the clinic. Dr. Jones has published many peer-reviewed journal articles.  Additionally, he is co-author of the book Dysphagia in Movement Disorders, co-editor of Dysphagia in Rare Conditions, and the author of many book chapters.  His current research program is focused on speech, swallowing, and respiratory disorders in genetic diseases across the lifespan and their rehabilitation via exercise-based, behavioral approaches. Currently funded research projects are focused on adults and children with Down syndrome and Pompe disease.

To register for the webinar, please click here.

Disclaimer: The AMDA does not endorse any of the products, medications, treatments or information reported herein. The website and its contents is intended for informational purposes, only. We strongly advise that you discuss all medications, treatments, and/or products with your physician.

Address: AMDA PO Box 700248
San Antonio, Texas 78270 USA